Cowdray Hall is an elegant space that boasts beautiful architecture with its original oak door, stained glass windows and high ceiling. Combined with modern events facilities, it has flexible staging that can be adapted to suit a wide range of events.
The town house at no. 20 Cavendish Square has a rich and interesting history running back almost 300 years. Thought to have been built in 1729 by Edward Shepherd, it was one of the earliest houses in the square and has had some eminent residents including Lord Montford, Lord Barrington and England’s Prime Minister, Lord Asquith.
Original oak doors lead into Cowdray Hall with its three stained glass windows by Dudley Forsyth depicting Love, Fortitude and Faith – the symbols of the nurse. A carving of the Cowdray Coat of Arms is by George Haughton who was responsible for all the wood carving in the building. Cowdray Hall opens onto the room Sir Edwin Cooper designed as a dining room, which is now the Council Room.
20 Cavendish Square boasts a range of flexible spaces perfect for events big and small.